New Member Introduction

Hello!
My name is Ashley, and I’m currently a college student looking to get more experience in web development. A friend and I have been really interested in getting involved with Karrot and contributing. We have been unable to join the calls since we live in EST time. Is there anything we can do to get started?
Best,
Ashley

1 Like

Hi Ashley! Welcome :slight_smile:
That’s exciting, how did you learn about Karrot? As you see on the map most (or actually all active) groups are currently based in Europe and so are the contributors. But we’re certainly open to find a time that works for both time zones, maybe for an initial call to meet and chat? What worked in the past was a time around 5/6/7 pm UTC.
And maybe @nicksellen knows a good way to get started?
We’re also currently thinking about our organizational structure and how to welcome new people, so we might have a bit of a conversation (with you) what “getting involved and contributing” actually means :slight_smile: You’re also welcome to join our Karrot group: Karrot
Nathalie

Our main code repo is here GitHub - karrot-dev/karrot-frontend: Karrot is a free and open-source tool for grassroots initiatives and groups of people that want to coordinate face-to-face activities on a local, autonomous and voluntary basis. which has instructions for how to set up the development environment.

It’s hard for me to provide a lot of support to beginners in programming, so you’ll need to be clear what you want to achieve, and if you are not so experienced, have other sources of support available.

Hi Nathalie!
I learned about Karrot through one of my college courses that discusses contributing to open sources for social good. I noticed Karrot and thought it would be a great opportunity to get involved. 5/6/7 pm UTC would work great for me this Friday (3/24), Tuesday (3/28), or weekend.